Welcome

Welcome to my blog. It’s all very early days at the moment. I’ve ‘blogged’ before on other subjects but never one as personal as my writing.

There’s still a lot to add but the basic idea is to provide a bit of information about myself and – of course – information about my novels and short stories.

At the moment, my only published novel is The Tale of Findo Gask. This was first published in 2006 after winning the national prize in the inaugral Undiscovered Authors competition.

Unfortunately, the company behind the prize seemed to run into all kinds of problems and are now defunct! Which sadly means that although I did get my prize money, they never managed to sell many copies of my novel.

As the rights have now reverted to me, I’ve published Findo via Amazon’s Kindle. I’m hoping to also have it available in other ebook formats in due course.

I’ve also published a collection of short stories – Fractured Lives – also available on Kindle.

Later this year, I’m hoping to put out a couple of other books: Pagan’s Sphinx, an archaeological adventure set in North Africa, and The Vault, a story about the secret at the heart of an ancient English woodland.

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Welcome”

  1. Tracy Smith says :

    Just finished Findo Gask and I must say I’m impressed. It was one of those novels I sat up all night reading because I couldn’t put it down. I just had to know what happened with Findo next. It’s one of those books that would make an interesting movie.

    As one who gets bored with stories with typical plots and typical main characters, Findo Gask was a refreshing change of pace and just what I’d been looking for. I like anti-heroes and complicated main characters with issues, where neither the “good” guys nor the “bad” guys are all bad nor all good.

    Findo, despite his lack of a normal childhood, is a likable character and, despite his shortcomings, has many virtues as well. He’s resourceful, loyal to those he cares about, a quick learner and, above all, a born survivor. And, despite the life he leads, he’s oddly vulnerable and innocent as well. I’m also quite glad you left him true to himself at the end and did not allow him to come to a bad end.

    Beside Findo himself, the characters I liked best were Mrs Reid and John, who were like surrogate parents for him.

    I got this book through Amazon when it was a freebie and, though I normally dump books off my Kindle once finishing them, this is one I intend to keep and read again at some point. It’s one of those stories that stays in your mind, not to be forgotten.

    • Huw Thomas says :

      Hello Tracy

      Delighted you enjoyed the book so much. I had real pleasure writing Findo – he had the adventures I can only imagine.

      It’s wonderful to get feedback on my creations from a complete stranger. While I love writing for its own sake (and can totally lose myself in my imaginary worlds), it’s a huge boost to know that I’m also providing reading pleasure for others. Interesting too to get your comments on the characters. Apart from Findo himself, I think Mrs Reid is also one of my favourites – probably the one I’d most like to actually meet.

      Hugely flattered that you think Findo is worth keeping and re-reading one day.

Leave a comment