Timely Intervention

I’m about to test a new stage in my editing process – using a programme called Grammarly to check my ability to construct ‘proper’ sentences. 

It’s good timing. A couple of weeks ago, I saw a post by Australian author Belinda Williams about Grammarly – which I must admit I’d never heard of before.

Anyway, the post she’d written made it sound interesting – and included a giveaway for a three-month trial.

Seemed like good timing as I’d almost completed the first draft of my next novel, which means the next stage is some extensive editing, proofreading etc.

Grammarly – despite the pretty ugly name – claims to be “the world’s most accurate English grammar checker” so I’m going to let it lose on Church of the White Rabbits and see what it makes of my new book!

They also say:

“Grammarly improves communication among the world’s 2+ billion native and non-native English writers. Our flagship product, the Grammarly® Editor, corrects contextual spelling mistakes, checks for more than 250 common grammar errors, enhances vocabulary usage, and provides citation suggestions.”

The first hitch I’ve found is that I wanted to download the programme onto my laptop and integrate it with MS Word. However, I’m running an older version of Word and that’s no longer supported by Grammarly.

So, it’s the online version for me.

Initially, I tried uploading the whole novel (about 300 pages) but that seems to be asking a bit too much. Grammarly says it takes a maximum of 20 pages so I’m going to have to do it in bits. Seems a bit of a pain but it will be interesting to see what the programme flags up.

Oh well, the programme’s claims all sound great. I’ll report back on progress!

NB. I’m not sure if Belinda has given away all her copies of Grammarly, so if anyone else is interested, it might be worth checking out her post

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Timely Intervention”

  1. belindawilliamsbooks says :

    Thanks for the shout out, Huw. Yep, there’s still some Grammarly accounts to giveaway if anyone is interested! All the best for your editing, too.

    • Huw Thomas says :

      Going okay so far. Some good, some bad. Not as efficient as a live editor but a big step up on just using MS Word’s grammar check!

      • belindawilliamsbooks says :

        You might also want to take a look at something called prowritingaid.com. It’s a similar concept to Grammarly but looks at a few different things. I find it great for checking sentence length, whether I’m slipping into passive voice, consistency around UK v US spelling, my use of dialogue tags. You can use it free online to get a feel for it, but I’d strongly recommend you purchase a premium account for $35 which is pretty reasonable if you’re going to use it more than occasionally. It makes the editing process faster as premium user. I’m using this to do a final polish of my latest manuscript and finding it beneficial.

      • Huw Thomas says :

        Useful extra info – thanks a lot!

  2. constantwriterjl says :

    Keep us posted on how it goes and what you think about it! I’ve seen other writers posting about Grammarly and other automated proofreading programs as well, but I haven’t used it yet.
    I think that’s the general consensus, what you said about it being a step up from MS Word, but not quite as effective as a regular person, but that’s to be expected. Good luck!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Time To Sit Back? | Huw Thomas - August 15, 2013

Leave a Reply

