WordPress – Sometimes You’re Just Bizarre

I’m curious to know if anyone else has noticed a particular little quirk of WordPress when it comes to tags?

When I publish a new post, WordPress not only lists the tags I’ve added but always suggests a few others I might want to use…

Who knows what seals think... maybe they secretly dream of flying?

Who knows what seals think… maybe they secretly dream of flying?

Most of my posts are to do with writing and publishing novels, plus the odd mention of my travels and photography. So why the blinking heck does WordPress invariably suggest – among others, some equally bizzare – that suitable tags would be ‘aviation‘ and ‘gaming‘?!

The other day I wrote a post about how frustrating writer’s block can be and WordPress suggested that a suitable tag would be ‘mental health‘. I can kind of see how that works – I made a few mentions of the words mind, brain… and frustration!

Street book shop in Cuba - perhaps the schoolboy needs a treatise on game theory?

Street book shop in Cuba – perhaps the schoolboy needs a treatise on game theory?

Now, I know most geeks are into games so maybe that’s why the people who write all the wonderful programmes that enable me to write this blog have a thing about gaming.

But I don’t think I ever go on about flying, being high, wings or the price of an airline ticket so, come on WordPress, what’s this obsession with aviation?

And just for the fun of it... my grandparents on their tandem in the 1930s!

And just for the fun of it… my grandparents on their tandem in the 1930s!

(I’ve already included tags for ‘aviation’ and ‘gaming’ so I’ll be interested to see what else is suggested for this post. The random pictures are just an excuse to push the tagging envelope!)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “WordPress – Sometimes You’re Just Bizarre”

  1. Huw Thomas says :

    Oh, and in case anyone’s interested, the tags that WordPress suggested for this post were: cars, transport, airline ticket, game theory, schoolboy and quirk.
    I get most of them but ‘cars’?!

  2. poetmcgonagall says :

    Well, seals are very streamlined, therefore aerodynamic…or hydrodynamic, come to think of it.

  3. Maddie Cochere says :

    I came here through a search for an aviation game for my gaming husband who happens to be in Cuba on a photography assignment You were first on the list. 😉

Leave a Reply

