Dreaming Of Serial Killers

Dreams – as mentioned yesterday – can be strange things. But for a writer they can be a rich source of inspiration as well as good entertainment.

Thin IceMy novel Thin Ice* was sparked by a particularly intense dream that led me off on the wonderful ‘what if’ trail that few authors can resist.

*FREE on Kindle for the next five days!

In my dream my wife and I weren’t married and she didn’t even know me – but I knew we’d been married and was trying to convince her we should be together.

Like the other night’s dream about typing crocodiles – yes, really! – I’ve no idea what sparked the dream as my wife and I hadn’t even fallen out.

But it did get me thinking. In my dream, I knew something from an alternative reality (the fact that my wife and I should be married) and I started to wonder: if someone found themselves in a parallel existence what else might they know? Could they use that knowledge to change – or prevent – events in the parallel world.

Fractured Lives

Initially, I wrote a short story called Fractured Lives – which appears in my short story collection of the same name. To read the original, click Fractured Lives.

Later, when I thought more about the potential implications, I expanded the short story into Thin Icethe story of young journalist Danny Harper and his bid to not only win back the girl he loves but also halt a serial killer stalking the city where he lives.

Thin Ice is free on Kindle over the Easter weekend. Click on the links below or keep reading for a more detailed synopsis:

Download from Amazon.com or Amazon.co.uk

Everything is going perfectly for young journalist Danny Harper: a new flat, a career on the up and the girl he loves about to marry him. Then he wakes in hospital to find none of it’s true.

Refusing to admit he’s imagined it all, Harper tries to regain his lost life. But, while his claims are initially dismissed as delusion, he knows secrets that can’t be easily explained.

Thin Ice is the story of what happens when two parallel universes collide – one world where Danny Harper’s life is a success, the other where it’s a mess.

Stuck in the ‘wrong’ life, Harper starts trying to deal with this new, alternative existence. But in the process he has to deal with something that casts a new perspective on his problem – a deranged killer with a fanatical obsession for the ‘sins of woman’.

In Danny Harper’s ‘real’ world, the killer has already been caught. But in this alternative world – due in part to a mistake by the ‘other’ Harper – the killings have so far gone undetected. And the latest victim is a complete innocent.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Dreaming Of Serial Killers”

  1. meganorlowskirussell says :

    I’m excited to download it!

Leave a Reply

