The Radical Button

Big moment. I hit the radical button yesterday and uploaded the final cover design for The Vault.

Vault full cover Mar 13 SM

I hope it meets with approval as all your feedback and votes helped played an important part in the final decision!

From the selection that I asked you all to vote on, the red cover with the image of the locking mechanism and the black cover with the picture of the boy in the woods came out equal first with 39%. However, another 21% of you voted for the third version. Since this also used the photo of the woods I decided that was the winning image.

Helped by comments made on the blog and via Facebook, I pulled everything together for the version above, which I uploaded last night to CreateSpace.

And – as if that’s not enough excitement – this morning I ordered two proof copies of the book. Unfortunately, since I’m on the wrong side of the pond, I won’t get to see them until the end of next week.

It’ll be a special moment having a hard copy in my hands. Then – assuming everything’s okay – the next part of the fun starts. Trying to sell the things!

In the meantime, I don’t think I’m going to do any gardening today. The snow’s back and I’m staying inside. Oh well, I’ll have to write instead.

Tags: , , , , , ,

8 responses to “The Radical Button”

  1. Maddie Cochere says :

    Huw, I like your cover a lot. The sub-title at the top is great (is it called something different when it’s at the top?), and I like the pop of red for your previous title. Your choices were perfect, and I’m sure it will be exciting to hold it in your hands. Congratulations!

    • Huw Thomas says :

      Hi Maddie. Thanks for that – I know you’ve been busy with your own cover designs.
      Not sure what the bit above the main title is called – on a newspaper it might be a strapline.
      PS. Keep mentioning bacon in your posts and I’ll keep salivating – immediate Pavlovian response!

      • Maddie Cochere says :

        I think I have one more little bacon reference coming up, and then you are home free. πŸ™‚

        We’re reworking the cover on my second book now. After trying different things and not liking any of them, we’re starting all over again. Self-publishing has its own challenges, but it sure is fun. (I think. On some days.)

  2. Melissa Bowersock (@MJBowersock) says :

    Huw, certainly looks dark and scary! I had been told by a publishing designer that black covers do not sell well, but we all know about what “they” say. I hope when the books arrive they are all that you want them to be. Now start beating the drum! Good luck.

    • Huw Thomas says :

      Hmm. Well, I guess I’ll never know whether I’d have sold more copies without a black cover but I’ve certainly got a few books – by very successful authors – that have got black covers!
      Thanks for the good wishes.

  3. NouveauSoileau says :

    It’s alternating between snow and sunshine here. Thanks for stopping by my blog today. I’m happy to meet a real writer. πŸ™‚

    • Huw Thomas says :

      Don’t know about that. Having read your latest post I’d say you were one too. We’ve got squirrels at the end of the garden – any recipe ideas?
      (only joking – think my wife would kill me!)

  4. Zen A. says :

    I think that’s a great cover. =D I still remember the time when I held my book for my first time; it /was/ really special. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

