Sex It Up

A week or so ago I wrote a rant about lazy indie authors who can’t be bothered to proofread their book blurbs properly.

Then, earlier today, I was thinking about whether to set up a new promo for my one award-winning novel, The Tale Of Findo Gask.

Findo paperback

And the thing is, Findo is in many ways my favourite out of the books I’ve got published. (I know having favourite children is wrong but I just can’t help it.)

It’s probably got a lot to do with the fact that this was the book that back in 2005 won a national UK contest for new authors and got me – albeit briefly – a real, genuine publishing contract. I got to hold the first print edition of my book as well as see it on the shelves in the local Waterstones book shop and on Amazon.

This, for those of you who don’t remember that far back, was in the era BK (Before Kindle). I’d never even heard of ebooks at this stage and to be able to hold a printed copy of my novel was an emotional moment.

Anyway – to cut a long story short – I’ve always felt very proud of Findo and consequently rather disappointed that it’s also the worst seller out of the four novels I’ve currently got available on Kindle.

So before setting up my promo I had a look at the book’s blurb. Which is when I felt a serious pang of embarrassment. I didn’t see any typos or bad grammar – thankfully there was nothing that bad! But I read it and couldn’t help feeling that the blurb just didn’t live up to the book. I mean, I’m proud of this story – it’s exciting, thought-provoking and emotional but I don’t think anyone would have got that from the blurb.

Anyway – after smacking myself around the ego for my own laziness – I’ve now had another go. I don’t know if I’ve got it right yet but hopefully the new Amazon blurb might convince a few more readers that this is a book worth their time!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Sex It Up”

  1. Maddie Cochere says :

    Blurbs are not high on my list of priorities yet, Huw. I’m trying to get my covers right first, but I definitely want to go back and work on blurbs. You are wise to take another critical look at yours. I hope to read at least one of your works this year. I’ll start with your favorite – The Tale of Findo Gask. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Experimental Giveaway « Huw Thomas - February 21, 2013

Leave a Reply

