Puddings Are Go

I normally hate having anything to do with the festive season before the beginning of December. At the very earliest.

Christmas is special. Which is why people who put up decorations in October or November should be strung up with their own tinsel.

But this was important – and in the interests of further cultural exchange, goodwill to all etc – I thought I’d share the following.

A labour of love.

Forget NaNoNooNah and all that nonsense. Today, I made my Christmas puddings. And making the puds is something that falls outside my normal rules. That’s because proper, homemade Christmas puddings are so much better when made a couple of months in advance. (Actually, the middle of November is leaving it a bit late.)

I love Christmas puddings. In fact, I care about them so much I’m going to feed mine little sips of brandy over the next six weeks!

And because I love my fellow bloggers as well, I’m going to share my recipe. (Okay, calling it my recipe is stretching it: it’s a combination of my mum’s recipe and one from Delia Smith but I’ve blended and adapted to suit my tastes.) So here goes:

Huw’s Christmas Pudding Recipe

150g white breadcrumbs, 180g white self-raising flour (sifted), 240g of light brown muscavado sugar, 200g shredded vegetable suet, 1/2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp grated nutmeg, 1 tsp mixed spice, 1/2 tsp salt.

Mix these ingredients together in a large bowl. Then add the following, one by one, and keep mixing:

180g sultanas, 180g raisins, 400g currants, 120g mixed peel, 100g blanched almonds, one medium cooking apple (chopped fine or grated), juice and zest of one lemon and one orange, four eggs (beaten), 220ml cider, 4 tbsp brandy.

Once it’s all well stirred, let the mixture stand overnight. The next morning pack into two (1.2 litre) pudding bowls. Cover top with a layer of greaseproof paper then a double layer of aluminum foil and fold it over the rim. Tie in place tightly with string and steam puddings for eight hours.

I like to feed my puddings with a little extra brandy – remove the cover, make some small holes in the pudding and drip the brandy in. Repeat this once a week!

Store in a cool, dry place until wanted. Then steam for two hours and serve with whatever takes your fancy – cream, custard… or brandy sauce. Enjoy. Just don’t mention the ‘C’ word again for a minimum of another 17 days.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Puddings Are Go”

  1. nrhatch says :

    “Oh, the pudding, the pudding!” Tiny Tim exclaimed.

    Bob Cratchit reached in with his fork to snag a tiny morsel. With finesse, he rolled it round his tongue, making all manner of faces.

    Mrs. Cratchit looked on, eager for the verdict.

    “A triumph, my dear! A triumph!”

Leave a Reply

