I Want To Scream

Just occasionally I hate WordPress.

I had spent a good half an hour writing a post to do with technology, reference books and how life has changed for writers.

Then I went to hit publish and got a failure message. And my words all disappeared, eaten by the ether.

It’s been a long day. I thought about starting again. But I’m not sure I can bring myself to do it.

So. All you get is a brief rant and an apology for the fact I haven’t got anything more productive to say. Maybe tomorrow…

Tags: ,

5 responses to “I Want To Scream”

  1. Maddie Cochere says :

    It happened to me once, and from that day forward, I always compose my blog posts in a word document and then copy and paste into WordPress. Works great.

  2. constantwriterjl says :

    I know the feeling! But I usually have the computer crash (overheating problems) rather than the WP crash though! WP is usually good about the autosave, but it does fail from time to time.

  3. Michelle Proulx says :

    That sucks 😦 I tend to hit Ctrl+A and copy what I’ve done when I get far into a post, just in case. Not that this helps you now, lol. I’ll just be quiet so you can mourn in silence.

  4. jhobellkristyl says :

    That sucks. To be safe, write it on a Word document first, save it, back it up, and then copy and paste it. Hope you recover from your “I want to scream” mode soon. 🙂

  5. Huw Thomas says :

    Ah, the benefits of hindsight! 😉 I’m generally pretty good at remembering to save things on a regular basis – I’ve lost too many precious bits of writing when Word has crashed to ever trust computers completely.
    Like I said, though, it had been a long day and…
    To be fair it’s only the second time WP has failed on me and the previous time there was an autosave version that I could use. This time I didn’t manage to retrieve anything.
    It was only later that the irony sunk in: I was writing about technology and it failed me! That is where pen and paper wins.

Leave a Reply

